GreenStone Members Elect Directors to Cooperative Board
Member Cooperative Vote Blog Header


Two new members join the GreenStone Farm Credit Services Board of Directors, along with three incumbents being reelected: Ed Reed, Michael Timmer, Trent Hilding, Jed Welder and Marilyn Thelen.


Ed Reed of Cass County and Michael Timmer of Allegan County were reelected to four-year terms representing voting region 4. Reed, a hog and grain operator, has been a member of the GreenStone board for 14 years, currently serving as GreenStone board chairman. Timmer raises crops and replacement heifers and will now be serving his second term on the board.


Trent Hilding of Montcalm County was newly elected and joins incumbent Jed Welder in being selected for four-year terms to represent voting region 5. Hilding brings a new perspective to the board with cattle, row crop, and agricultural law experience. Welder begins his second term on the board as a cash crop farmer and customer harvester.


Marilyn Thelen of Clinton County has been appointed by the board to fill the remaining year of the region 6 board seat term vacated when Laura Braun was elected to represent GreenStone on the AgriBank Board of Directors. On her farm, Thelen raises steers and cash crops.


“As a member-owned cooperative, we are governed by members who have a vested interest in seeing GreenStone continue its successful mission of serving rural communities and agriculture,” explained Dave Armstrong, former President and CEO. “Once again I am reassured by the knowledge and success of those elected to these positions. It’s clear the cooperative strength of GreenStone is alive and well.”


Along with the board positions, GreenStone’s 28,000 members elected individuals to serve on the cooperative’s 2023 nominating committee. The nominating committee is comprised of GreenStone members from throughout the organization’s territory who are tasked with recruiting candidates for next year’s board elections and nominating committee.


The 2023 nominating committee includes:

Region 1 – Benjamin E. Ritter (Saginaw County) and Jeremy P. Werth (Alpena County)

Region 2 – Darrin J. Wolschleger (Huron County) and Randall M. Wood (Sanilac County)

Region 3 – Jeffrey E. Horning (Washtenaw County) and Thomas W. Schroeder (Hillsdale County)

Region 4 – Lisa Ambrosio (Kalamazoo County) and Jason R. Scramlin (Barry County)

Region 5 – Abraham J. Pasch (Isabella County) and Tyler C. Wilson (Gratiot County)

Region 6 – James R. Goodheart (Clinton County), Matthew R. Keilen (Clinton County) and Bradley J. Ritter (Shiawassee County)

Region 7 – Aaron F. Behnke (Marinette County), Ryan R. Brock (Oconto County) and William L. Roethle (Kewaunee County)

Get Blog Updates!

Subscribe via RSS to receive notifications!

Subscribe with RSS